The Council of Canadian Administrative Tribunals is a national organization dedicated to promoting excellence in administrative justice.

Recent News

  • Most applicants to adminis...

  • This book describes the ad...

  • This book provides informa...

© 2020 CCAT. All Rights Reserved


ext. 2040

150 Elgin Street,

Suite 1000, Ottawa, ON K2P 1L4



Honours and Awards

The CCAT Medal is awarded annually to a person or persons for their leadership and significant contributions to Canadian administrative law and the Canadian administrative law community.

At the 2019 CCAT Symposium in Montreal, Quebec, the CCAT Medal was awarded to Marie Lamarre in recognition of her significant contribution to advancing the interests of the administrative law community.

Previous recipients of the CCAT Medal include:

  • Donald Buckingham
  • Guy Giguère
  • Hon. Heather MacNaughton, Supreme Court of BC
  • Raynald Chartand
  • Arthur Trudeau
  • Hon. John Evans, Federal Court of Appeal
  • Professor David J. Mullan
  • David Phillip Jones, QC and Anne S. de Villars, QC
  • Bertrand Roy
  • S. Ronald Ellis
  • Robert Macaulay, QC
  • Hon. René Dussault, Court of Appeal of Quebec
  • Professor Ed Ratushny

 CCAT/CTAC Student Essay Contest

About the Contest

The Council of Canadian Administrative Tribunals (CCAT) is a national non-profit organization dedicated to promoting excellence in administrative justice. The contest’s goal is to engage law students in the work of the CCAT and administrative tribunal community and to promote scholarship concerning the administrative justice system.

The winning paper may be published in the Canadian Journal of Administrative Law and Practice. The winner will receive a cash prize of $500, free registration to attend the next Annual Symposium and up to a $500 stipend for travel and accommodation.


The contest is open only to students registered for a full or part-time undergraduate degree (J.D., LL.B. or B.C.L.) or a full-time LL.M. or doctoral (PhD, SJD, LL.D.) at a Faculty of Law at a Canadian university and only for a paper written while they were completing this degree. Students are welcome to submit papers prepared as part of academic course work for the prize. Candidates must confirm their academic registration, the date the paper was written, and that the paper has not been submitted elsewhere, in whole or in part, for publication.

Subject and Form

The prize is awarded annually for an original paper, previously unpublished, on a topic relating to administrative law, particularly as it relates to the administrative justice system.

Papers in French or English must be between 5,000 and 7,500 words, including notes and tables.  Papers with word counts falling outside these word limits may be excluded from consideration.  Papers must be formatted in accordance with the CJALP’s Author Guidelines. The candidate’s name and university should appear on the cover of the paper but the text must not otherwise identify its author.


A committee of leading administrative law practitioners and academics will select the best paper. It must be of publishable quality and make a significant contribution to scholarship concerning the administrative justice system. CCAT will not award the prize if there is no text of sufficient merit. The CJALP agrees to publish the winning paper in accordance with the terms of its standard authorization to publish.


Submissions must be received by e-mail at essay.essai@ccat-ctac.org no later than February 1, 2022. The winner will be contacted in April.

Student Essay Contest Winner

Contest Winner 2018

AI-Supported Adjudicators: Should Artificial Intelligence have a Role in Tribunal Adjudication?

Jesse Chisholm-Beatson (2018) 31 CJALP 307-337


This essay is available in English only.

Contest Winner 2017